Editing in Lightroom

I finally got round to watching a few Lightroom videos, (which I shared earlier this week), and then today I was about to go edit a photo in Adobe Photoshop, and then I considered trying to do it in Lightroom instead, and I am glad I did.

I was able to navigate my way around, trying new tools and thankfully remembering the new ones I found out in the tutorial. I have also been regularly using Camera Raw editing in Photoshop anyway, and so the conversion into using Lightroom was not as bad as I had thought.

Below is the original image, unedited with the exception of the water mark, and some spot removal (as I need to clean my camera sensor!)

IMG_9859

The second image edited in Lightroom exceeded my expectations, I have a lot of advise to make the switch or experiment with it, rather than Photoshop, as it is made solely for photo editing, but I have finally seen why.
Without loosing any detail, and just three quick adjustments, I have a totally new image, that makes the original fall flat!

sunset

I know this image isn’t the style I am using for my studio photography project (however it will come in handy for my object design class), and is not the greatest image in the world, (and needs the street light removed), but through very little editing and time consumed, it has turned into something that would have degraded the image and taken twice as long if done using Photoshop.

 

For watching later:

 

 

References:

Photographs are my own, as Rachael Anne Photography NZ

Video retrieved from;

Kost, Julieanne, and Adobe Photoshop Lightroom. “Lightroom CC – Moving Between Lightroom and Photoshop.” YouTube. April 21, 2015. Accessed August 26, 2016. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1baVIZpEl0k.

Leave a Reply

